Ghost of Tsushima Is Unsupported on Steam Deck Due to PSN

Ghost of Tsushima Is Unsupported on Steam Deck Due to PSN

Ghost of Tsushima‘s multiplayer mode won’t be playable on Steam Deck, Sony and porting studio Nixxes have announced, and the reason once again involves PSN.

In appost on X outlining the game’s impending PC release, Nixxes says that Ghost of Tsushima‘s single-player mode, including its Iki Island expansion, will be fully playable on Steam Deck thanks to extensive optimization efforts.

However, the game will technically sport an “Unsupported” rating on Steam Deck. That’s the rating Valve assigns to games for which “some or all” of their functionality doesn’t work on Steam Deck, and in Ghost of Tsushima‘s case, it’s the multiplayer component.

Ghost of Tsushima‘s single-player is fully playable on Steam Deck, but its multiplayer is not.

Nixxes says that because Ghost of Tsushima‘s multiplayer requires Windows “to access PlayStation Network integrated features”, you won’t be able to play the game on Steam Deck, which runs a custom Linux shell.

This represents another stumbling block for Ghost of Tsushima on PC when it comes to PSN integration. Last week, due to its requirement for a PSN ID in order to access multiplayer, the game was removed from Steam in many countries in which PSN is not available.

A PSN account isn’t required to play the single-player game, though, which is why you’ll be able to enjoy it on your Steam Deck without any restrictions.

This isn’t the first time Sony has slipped up with regards to PSN account requirements.

Although Sony recently walked back a decision to require Hell divers 2 players to link a PSN ID with their Steam account to keep playing on PC, that game was also delisted in many non-PSN countries, and at time of writing, it hasn’t been restored.

Ghost of Tsushima global PC launch timings revealed

It’s not all doom and gloom for Ghost of Tsushima PC players, though. Along with the warning about Steam Deck compatibility, Nixxes also revealed the Ghost of Tsushima global launch timings on PC.

Most areas of the world will get to play the game on May 16th, but if you’re in Sydney, Auckland, or Tokyo, you’ll have to wait until the next day due to time zone shenanigans.

A map showing the global release timings for Ghost of Tsushima on PC
Here’s when you’ll get to play Ghost of Tsushima on PC.

Here’s a rundown of the timings featured in the image above.

  • Los Angeles: 8am (PDT)
  • Mexico City: 9am (CST)
  • New York: 11am (EDT)
  • Rio de Janeiro: 12pm (BRT)
  • London: 4pm (BST)
  • Berlin: 5pm (CEST)
  • Cape Town: 5pm (SAST)
  • Dubai: 7pm (GST)
  • New Delhi: 8:30pm (IST)
  • Tokyo: 12am, May 17th (JST)
  • Sydney: 1am, May 17th (AEST)
  • Auckland: 3am, May 17th (NZST)

As ever, if you don’t live in one of these cities, pick the time zone closest to you and you’ll be able to get a good idea of ​​when the game will launch in your region.

Ghost of Tsushima arrives on PC via Steam on May 16th (or May 17th in some territories).

BOOK